A Complete Guide to Obtaining a Connecticut Fishing License

Last Updated on June 2, 2023

The state of Connecticut is home to both freshwater and saltwater fishing. You must have a fishing license to fish in the beautiful Connecticut waters.

With over 180 Connecticut rivers, lakes, and streams that are miles long, there’s no shortage.

With the ability to catch fish such as trout, bass, salmon, and flounder, it is essential to stay up to date on your Connecticut fishing license and understand which license you need to prevent fines.

Who Needs a Fishing License in Connecticut

License Age RequirementResidentNon-Resident
Freshwater16-6416 and above
Saltwater16-6416 and above

Anyone under 16 years old does not require a CT fishing license. 

The type of license you need depends on factors such as your age, the kind of fish you are looking to fish for, and if you are a resident or non-resident.

There are particular circumstances where a Connecticut fishing license is free, such as being physically or intellectually disabled or blind. 

If children under the age of 16 wish to fish, you can get them a youth fishing passport at no cost. You can sign up for the passport online or in person, including a fun fishing challenge to catch all the fish on the list. 

The child who catches the most fish will be recognized at the Annual Trophy Fish Award Ceremony.

If you hunt, there are hunting licenses that are combined with fishing licenses that include the hunting of small game and firearms hunting. Hunting and fishing or trapping licenses are often purchased together.

What Age Do You Need a Fishing License in Connecticut?

All anglers aged 16 and older need a fishing license in Connecticut.

Whether you are looking for an all waters, marine, short-duration, or inland fishing license, anglers will need a license when they are 16 years old. 

Resident LicenseAll resident fishing licenses require anglers to be at least 16 years of age to obtain a license.

Children under the age of 16 do not require a license.
Non-Resident LicenseNon-resident fishing licenses also require you to be at least 16 years of age to obtain one.

Children under the age of 16 do not require a license.
Saltwater Fishing LicenseA CT saltwater fishing license is the same as a marine water CT fishing license.

This license is valid for anyone 16 years of age or older.

How to Buy a Connecticut Fishing License Online

To purchase a CT fishing license online, you must establish whether you are a returning customer or a new customer. 

You can log into your account, or you can create a new account to get your fishing license.

You will need to complete the form, listing your personal information, such as your name, birthday, gender, height, weight, hair color, and driver’s license information. 

Then, you must provide your address, including the postal code and city in which you live. There is also a section to fill out your mailing address. Your mailing address and residence address can be the same or different. 

Lastly, you must include your phone number and email address. Once completed you can submit the form, pay for the CT fishing license online, and print it at home.

How Much is a Fishing License in CT?

License TypeResident FeeNon-Resident Fee
Inland Fishing Ages 18-64$28.00N/A
Inland Fishing Ages 16-17$14.00N/A
All Waters Fishing Ages 18-64$32.00N/A
All Waters Fishing Ages 16-17$16.00N/A
Trout and Salmon Stamp Ages 18-64$5.00$5.00
Trout and Salmon Stamp Ages 65 and up$5.00$5.00
Trout and Salmon Stamp Ages 16-17$3.00$3.00
Senior Citizen Inland Fishing Age 65 plusFree (requires annual renewal)N/A
Season Inland FishingN/A$55.00
Season All Water FishingN/A$63.00
3 Day Inland FishingN/A$22.00
3 Day Marine Water FishingN/A$8.00
Marine Waters Fishing Ages 18-64$10.00$15.00
Marine Waters Fishing Ages 16-17$5.00$15.00
Senior Citizen Marine Waters Fishing Age 65 plusFree (requires annual renewal)N/A
Armed Forces Members Inland Fishing$28.00$28.00
Inland Fishing Blind/Disabled FreeFree

By Phone

You can purchase a Connecticut fishing license over the phone by calling the Department of Energy & Environmental Protection (DEEP) Licensing and Revenue office at 860-424-3105.

They are available to help you with your fishing license Monday through Friday from 9am to 4pm. The agent can help complete your form for you and can mail your license to you.

Local Retailer

There are various local retailers that can help you get your Connecticut fishing license.

Some of the local retailers include businesses such as Cabelas, Dicks Sporting Goods, and the town clerk found at the town clerk’s office in each area.

In addition, there are DEEP offices located throughout the state. DEEP offices are located in Old Lyme, Marlborough, Harwinton, Franklin, Burlington, and Hartford.

The local retailer can help you complete your form and print out your license at the office.

What Is a Salmon and Trout  Stamp?

A salmon and trout stamp is $5.00 per stamp ($3.00 for ages 16-17) and is required for any angler over the age of 16 who harvests trout, kokanee, or Atlantic salmon from any water in the state. 

You also are required to have a trout and salmon stamp if you fish in one of the four trout and salmon waters. These four waters include:

  • Trout Parks
  • Trout Management Areas
  • Wild Trout Management Areas
  • Atlantic Salmon Management Areas

You must have a trout and salmon stamp if you harvest salmon or trout in these specific locations. If you catch and release the trout or salmon, you do not need to obtain a stamp. These locations include:

  • Trophy Trout Area
  • Statewide Stocked Waters
  • Kokanee Lakes
  • Trout Management Lakes
  • Community Fishing Waters

If you are unsure whether you need a trout and salmon stamp, you can check out the Trout and Salmon Stamp Regulation FAQs.

Who Can Get a Free Fishing License in Connecticut?

There are certain circumstances where anglers can fish without needing to pay for their Connecticut fishing license. While they do not need to pay, they still need to have a license.

Physically Disabled

A Connecticut resident or non-resident who is physically disabled with the loss of a limb or have no use of a limb can obtain their fishing license for free if they have a doctor’s note.

This includes both saltwater/marine fishing licenses and freshwater licenses for free. 

Blind or Intellectually Disabled

With proof of disability in the form of a doctor’s note or a licensed specialist in Connecticut, blind or intellectually disabled anglers can receive at no cost both marine waters fishing license and a license for the inland district. 

License Reciprocity

Residents of other states, such as Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island, or New York, who have a saltwater fishing license, can use their state’s fishing license in Connecticut’s marine waters.

Senior Lifetime Fishing License

All residents of Connecticut that are over age 65 can obtain their fishing license for free for both inland and marine waters.

However, seniors must still get a salmon and trout stamp if planning to keep the fish from one of the four salmon and trout areas.

Free Fishing Day

Every calendar year, there are two specific dates where anglers can fish without a license. You can check the DEEP website or call their office to find out which dates these are each year,

What Happens If You Lose Your License?

If you bought your Connecticut fishing license online, you can print your license again at home by logging on to your account. You can log online by using your Connecticut conservation ID, birthday, and last name. 

You will see a link to reprint your license on the right hand side of the website.

If you bought your CT fishing license through a local retailer or one of the DEEP offices, you can revisit and request that they reprint your license.

If purchased over the phone, you can call again and ask for your license to be resent in the mail.

Related Articles

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I get a CT fishing license?

You can get your Connecticut fishing license online, in person at a local retailer, or over the phone.

What do I need to fish in Connecticut?

If you are over the age of 16, you must have a fishing license and a trout and salmon stamp, if you plan on harvesting the trout and salmon.

Are CT fishing licenses free?

CT fishing licenses are not free for the general public, but they are free for certain individuals who are blind or are physically or intellectually disabled.

Children under the age of 16 do not need a license, but can obtain a Connecticut fishing passport.

Final Thoughts

Now that you understand how to get your Connecticut fishing license, you should determine which license best suits you and your fishing desires.

Consider using bass lures if you are fishing for bass, or you can use other bait for salmon, like salmon eggs.

It is highly recommended to follow your state’s laws on getting your license and where you can fish for trout and salmon. 

As anglers, it is essential that we help fund one of the organizations in Connecticut that allow our fishing waters to stay properly maintained. Get a Connecticut fishing license today! 

If you want to find some of the best bass fishing in the state of Connecticut, feel free to check out our interactive bass fishing map!